#RPGaDay2015: 1 – The Warren

There are a lot of games I’m looking forward to, though maybe not as many as at this time last year (a lot of games I was looking forward to have since come out, and either not as many are currently pending, or I just don’t know about them). But even with a short list, this one is hard to answer. Just yesterday I discovered there will be a new edition of Kult, one of my all-time favorite games. However, much like the previous editions, I don’t expect I’ll ever get to play it—the folks I game with just aren’t interested. Likewise, my gut reaction was Buckaroo Banzai RPG—it’s certainly the game I’ve been most looking forward to for the longest time. But gaming with people who didn’t like the movie at all just seems like a pointless exercise, almost as bad as when we played a Star Trek Mirror Universe game with people who weren’t already steeped in the Star Trek tropes that it subverts.

In an abstract sense, I’m really looking forward to Ryuutama (I almost backed the French translation a few years ago, even though I don’t speak French, because I figured my odds of puzzling through were better than in the original Japanese), Chuubo’s Marvelous Wish-Granting Engine, and Red Aegis, but I don’t really know enough about them to be as enthused as I might be.

Conversely, I can’t wait to get my hands on the new editions of Puppetland and Blue Rose, but since I have the original editions of both, they’re not exactly filling a hole.

I think the game that beats all of those out, just barely, is The Warren. Watership Down is one of my favorite books of all time, and while there have been a couple attempts at an RPG in that genre, none has really captured it for me. But I’ve played a beta version of The Warren, and it totally has it nailed. It takes the generally-good Apocalypse World engine and streamlines it into something nearly transcendent. And I know I can get people to play it, and that when we play it we’ll have fun, with no need for extensive media consumption to get everyone on the same page.

Leave a Reply

