#RPGaDAY 9: Spalted Norway Maple

I have a few dice that are particularly special to me. There’s the badly-rounded d20 that is from one of my first sets, more than 30 years ago. It has been slowly crumbling for 20 years now, and is probably nowhere near fair any more, but the numbers it seems to favor are at least somewhat evenly distributed: 18, 19, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9. There’s my golf-ball-sized brass d20 that I daren’t roll on glass or nice wood. 

And then I have two sets of very special dice. I managed to get in on the kickstarter for dice made from Vesuvian lava, so I have a set of Fudge dice and a random dungeon die. Now I just need to play more Fudge/Fate/Shadow of Yesterday, so I get to use them.

But definitely my favorite dice are a set of dice made from spalted Norway maple by Artisan Dice, which I got as a present from my in-laws. They are gorgeous and have a perfect feel, and the spalting makes them extra-unique. And I don’t have to worry about denting the table when I roll them. 

Artisan dice, spalted Norway maple

Leave a Reply

